NSCA Announces Leadership Changes for 2015 & 2016

July 17, 2015

CEDAR RAPIDS, IA, July 17, 2015 — The NSCA Board of Directors has elected a new officer to its executive committee, who assumed his role on July 1, 2015.

Dave Ferlino, regional operations manager at Whitlock, joins the NSCA Board of Directors executive committee in his new position as secretary. Ferlino joins the following executive committee members who are continuing their positions from last year:

  • NSCA President: Michael Hester, managing partner for Beacon Communications
  • NSCA Immediate Past President: Ingolf de Jong, president and principal partner of General Communications
  • NSCA Vice President: Ray Bailey, president of Lone Star Communications
  • NSCA Treasurer: Josh Shanahan, president of Sport View Technologies

Rob Simopoulos, president at Advance Technology, begins his first three-year term as a member of NSCA’s Board of Directors. He joins the following board members who are continuing their terms from last year:

  • Michael Boettcher, Advanced AV
  • Kelly McCarthy, Genesis Integration
  • Ron Prier, RPAV
  • Anne Sellers, Sensory Technologies
  • Paul Thomas, Northland Control Systems

“We’re thrilled to have Dave Ferlino join the NSCA Board of Directors executive committee and have another year with Michael Hester as president,” says Chuck Wilson, NSCA’s executive director. “His in-depth industry knowledge, as well as his experiences in leading Beacon Communications through several changes and periods of growth, will continue to serve NSCA and represent the needs of the industry well.”

Jeff Kindig, vice president of marketing strategy at AMX, will remain as president of the NSCA Education Foundation Board of Directors, which has now grown to be the largest board in NSCA Education Foundation history. He serves alongside officers Stephen Kohler of Shure (vice president) and Catherine Shanahan of Shanahan Sound (secretary/treasurer).

New to the NSCA Education Foundation Board of Directors are Kelly Perkins, marketing and communications manager for AVI Systems, Shannon Townley, president of SurgeX and Energy Intelligence Solution Sales,  Laurie Englert, vice president of marketing for Milestone AV Technologies, and Michael Shinn, director of operations for IMS Technology Services’ systems integration division. Ingolf de Jong, NSCA Board of Directors’ immediate past president will also be joining the NSCA Education Foundation board, along with Paul Cronin, senior vice president at Atrion Networking.

“We’re also fortunate to have Jeff Kindig continue as president of the NSCA Education Foundation Board of Directors to oversee the largest board we’ve ever had,” says Chuck Wilson, NSCA’s executive director. “We look forward to the new ideas and programs that this impressive team will bring to the table.”

For more information about NSCA or the NSCA Education Foundation, visit www.nsca.org or call (800) 446-6722.

About NSCA
The National Systems Contractors Association (NSCA) is the leading not-for-profit association representing the commercial low-voltage electronic systems industry. NSCA is a powerful advocate for all who work within the low-voltage industry, including systems contractors/integrators, product manufacturers, consultants, sales representatives, architects, specifying engineers, and other allied professionals. NSCA is dedicated to serving its contractor members and all channel stakeholders through advocacy, education, member services, and networking designed to improve business performance. For more information, visit www.nsca.org.

About NSCA Education Foundation
The NSCA Education Foundation invests in industry education to fulfill its purpose of providing and promoting educational opportunities for commercial electronic systems professionals, as well as to attract the next generation to the industry. Its programs include ESPA/EST training and certification, member discounts to use toward NSCA education and training, scholarship endowment, convergence curriculum development, and NSCA’s popular, industry-specific course: Project Management of Systems Projects and Estimating of Systems Projects.

Member Access